December 2010
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
« Nov   Jan »

Day December 25, 2010

Gorillaz’ iPad album ‘The Fall’ now streaming for free

Damon Albarn of Gorillaz hasn’t been shy of his love for Apple’s iPad nor of his intention to release an album made with one ‘before Christmas’. Sure enough, Gorillaz’ follow-up to ‘Plastic Beach’ entitled ‘The Fall’ is now one email sign-up away for those who want to give the English alternative hip hop band’s freshest record a listen.

Mailing list subscribers can enjoy free streaming of all 15 tracks from Christmas Day on, while Sub Division fan club members ($45/£30) are treated to the gift of a free download. ‘The Fall’ will see a physical release sometime in 2011. The full track listing is:

  1. Phoner To Arizona
  2. Revolving Doors
  3. HillBilly Man
  4. Detroit
  5. Shy-town
  6. Little Pink Plastic Bags
  7. The Joplin Spider
  8. The Parish of Space Dust
  9. The Snake In Dallas
  10. Amarillo
  11. The Speak It Mountains
  12. Aspen Forest
  13. Bobby In Phoenix
  14. California And The Slipping Of The Sun
  15. Seattle Yodel

‘The Fall’ — Gorillaz’ fourth album — was recorded in the fall of 2010 while frontman Damon Albarn was on tour with the band. ‘The Fall’ was recorded almost entirely on an iPad using no less than 20 apps including Korg’s iElectribe.

Although Apple has positioned the iPad as primarily a content consumption device, Gorillaz’ ‘The Fall’ is just another reminder that Cupertino’s Multi-Touch tablet is equally poised as a vehicle for content creation.

Source: Gorillaz